The Summer Blockbuster Season: The Good, The Bad and the downright boring!

Hello again!

I know it’s been a while, but I have decided to dusted off the blog and share some thoughts (dusts literally has just come off the keyboard!).

So the summer blockbuster season is drawing to a close, so I thought I’d have a natter about the big films to be released this summer.

First off X Men: First Class – Never has a film been appropriately titled (well since Halloween or Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles the movie). I have to say hopes were pretty middle of the road going to see this on its last run, but it hooks you in very early and by the end my opinion had done a complete 180. I had fears it would be another X Men: The Last Stand (even Vinnie Jones couldn’t save it….).

Transformers: Dark of the Moon – I must be one of the only people in the UK (or the world who knows?) who can tolerate Transformers Revenge of the Fallen. It wasnt a masterpiece by any stretch of the imagination or even close to the original in terms of quality but it was a solid three star affair in my book. Now on reflection I found Dark of the Moon potentially better, but the more I think about it, it’s just hurts my head. Firstly the 3D made me dizzy for 2 and a half hours, and the ending seemed extremely rushed after what seemed like an hour of destruction, also painfully underused were Megatron and Shockwave the supposed new villain who has very little screen time. In the original Michael Bay went out of his way to give both sides of robots a minor bit of personality, but here they might as well all look the same for their redeeming features.

The thought of a Transformers reboot with Jason Statham replacing Shia Labeouf is also a no go too, I think the series has kind of run its course unless someone comes up with spectacular, Unicron anyone?

The Hangover Part 2 – Absolutely woeful almost shot for shot remake of original but not funny in the slightest, that is all.

The Rise of the Planet of the Apes – Ah the biggest suprise of the summer! What a treat this turned out to be, fantastic story, character development and action scenes, check check bloody check.

I had heard whispers before this was released that it was being talked about for Oscars, and having seen it I would give one to John Lithgow and the guy who plays Caesar the king chimp (who I still want to take home with me, or come to think of it become one of his minions).

The Inbetweeners Movie – Another film I was genuinely sceptical about having been slightly disappointed with the 3rd series but within 5 minutes I was sold on it. Very rarely do television series adapt well to the big screen but this film really was laugh a minute (almost), you just don’t want it to end. Plus having been on a lads holiday many moons ago some of the experiences and stereotypes even made me smile alot. All I can say is just go see it you will not be disappointed.

Less said about Final Destination 5 the better…..

That’s all for now folks, hopefully won’t live so long before next update.

 

Leave a Reply

